FotoFungi

August 26, 2011

Smoking Man

Filed under: Uncategorized — Will @ 1:12 am

I got off the train to meet my gf in Bankstown of all places, she txts me to say she’ll be 5 mins so I slip out my EP-2, my only camera, and have a look around, at this time I had had the new 12mm for about 1 day so of course this was slapped on.  I look around, and can’t see much of anything worth taking and then bam, this guy sitting there, in the perfect pose, with the hat on, with the cigarette right in front of his lips and his legs crossed, staring into infinity.  It’d been a while since i’d done any real street shooting and the fear was within me a bit.  I couldn’t not take a photo of this though, so I walked up fairly close and pretended to look around at the cars driving by and snapped a couple,  Iwalked away and chimped them (reviewed them) I wasn’t entirely happy with the exposure so I bumped the EV up a stop, walked back and took a couple more.

Funny thing is, he didn’t move at all, there was a good minute where all of this was happening, probably more, and in all 4 of my shots he looks exactly the same, not exactly the decisive moment though you could be forgiven for thinking so.  Anyway, one thing i’m loving about the 12mm is the ability to crop, I took this from my hip, yes I was to scared to kneel and squeeze, well actually I thought it’d be too obvious, and of course accordingly it was crooked, but being so wide (24mm equiv) I can afford to straighten and crop the image.

Smoking Man

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.